By R. C. Dogra

Show description

Read or Download Bhutan PDF

Best india books

The Song of Kali

Calcutta: a giant urban of huge slums, disorder and distress, is clasped within the foetid include of an historical cult. At its decaying center is the Goddess Kali: the darkish mom of discomfort, four-armed and everlasting, her track the sound of loss of life and destruction. Robert Luczak has been employed by way of Harper's to discover a famous Indian poet who has reappeared, lower than unusual situations, years after he was once proposal useless.

The Last India Overland

An over-looked vintage, a Canadian at the Road.

Based on a visit the writer took via Asia within the past due 70's, The final India Overland incorporates a drug-fueled solid of ex-pats and refugees from truth, screwing and doping their means from London to the Khyber cross. a desirable mixture of personalities and a story thrillingly instructed, even supposing decidedly now not the type of travelogue prone to be recommended through the international locations involved.

Craig supply established the unconventional on a bus journey he took that was once the final India overland show to make it via Iran prior to the borders closed in the course of the Iranian revolution within the 1970’s. It used to be a bushy, frightening experience, with sexual experience, weaponry (a pen, if I bear in mind correctly), and suspense.

This quantity is lengthy out of print and it's past due for revival, a brand new iteration of readers and fun-seekers studying its indisputable allure and exceptional strangeness.

Uploader free up Notes:
Source: Hi-res scan> Edited, proofread, and OCRed to html > switched over to epub with Calibre

Pakistan: A Personal History

The attention-grabbing tale of Pakistan, obvious during the eyes of its most famed son, Imran Khan. Born in basic terms 5 years after Pakistan used to be created in 1947, Imran Khan has lived his country's heritage. Undermined by way of a ruling elite hungry for cash and gear, Pakistan now stands on my own because the in basic terms Islamic nation with a nuclear bomb, but not able to guard its humans from the carnage of standard bombings at domestic.

Additional info for Bhutan

Example text

Crampton 108 The Bahamas, Paul G. Boultbee 109 Peru, John Robert Fisher 110 Venezuela, D. A. G. Waddell 111 Dominican Republic Kai Schoenhals 112 Colombia, Robert H. Davis 113 Taiwan, Wei-chin Lee 114 Switzerland, Heinz K. Meier and Regula A. Meier 115 Hong Kong, Ian Scott 116 Bhutan, Ramesh C. Dogra Page vii Dedicated to Mr K. L. Sharma an illustrious scholar and a pioneer in the field of Indian journalism and Mrs. S. Sharma who believes in the glory of reason, the richness of humanism and the ecstasy of duty.

1851 Shabdrung Tuelku Jigme Norbu ascends the Golden Throne, and Chagpa Sangye becomes Deb. 1852 Lopon Bachup Damchhoe Lhundup becomes Deb. 1856 Kuenga Palden Sonam Tobgyel becomes Deb. 1860 Nagzi Pasang Phuntsho Namgyal becomes Deb. 1863 Tshewang Sithub becomes Deb. 1864 Kaju Wangchhug ascends the Golden Throne. Ashley Eden's mission to Bhutan. Anglo-Bhutanese war. 1865 Treaty of peace between Bhutan and India. Tsulthrim Yonten becomes Deb. Tshenyi Lopen Tseundue becomes Deb. 1870 Jigme Namgyal ascends the Golden Throne.

Bhutan opened to tourism in 1974. 1976 Fourth Five-Year Plan started. 1981 Fifth Five-Year Plan started. 1982 Bhutan becomes a member of UNESCO. 1986 Asian Development Bank approved a loan of $4. 5m towards roadworks mechanization project in Bhutan. 1987 Sixth Five-Year Plan started. Page xxv Chronology of Rulers and Dignitaries of Bhutan Druk Shabdung Lama 1616-1907 1594-1651 Ngawang Namgyal 1724-61 Ngawang Jigme Dakpa 1762-88 Ngawang Chhokyi Gyaltsen 1791-1830 Ngawang Jigme Dakpa 1831-61 Ngawang Jigme Norbu 1862-1903 Ngawang Jigme Chhogyal Druk Deb 1651-1905 1651-56 Umze Tenzin Druggyal 1657-68 Langonpa Tenzin Drugda 1668-76 Chhogyal Mingyur Tempa 1680-94 Tenzin Rabgye 1694-1702 Karbi Gedun Chhophel 1702-4 Ngawang Tsering 1704-8 Penjor 1708-20 Drug Rabgye 1720-29 Geshe Ngawang Gyatso 1729-37 Rimpochhe Mipham Wangpo 1738-39 Kuo Penjor 1740-44 Sachong Ngawang Gyaltsen 1744-63 Chhogyal Sherab Wangchuk 1763-65 Druk Phuntsok 1765-68 Druk Tenzin 1768-73 Sonam Lhendup 1773-75 Tsanlob Kunga Rinchhen 1776-89 Jigme Senge 1789-91 Druk Tenzin 1792-98 Sonam Gyaltsen 1798-99 Umze Chapchapa 1799-1803 Druk Namgyal 1803 Umze Sonam Gyaltsen Page xxvi 1803-6 Sangye Tenzin 1806-8 Umzepa Dowa and Bopa Choda 1808 Shabdung Jigme Dakpa 1809 Tsulthim Dakpa 1810 Shabdung Jigme Dakpa 1811-15 Chhole Tulku Yeshe Yeshe Gyaltsen 1815 Tsaphu Dorje 1815-19 Miwang Sonam Druggyal 1819-23 Tenzin Drukda 1823-31 Chhokyi Gyatso 1831-33 Dorji Namgyal 1833-35 Atangpa Thinle 1835-38 Chhokyi Gyatso 1838-49 Dorje Norbu 1849-50 Tashi Dorje 1850 Wangchuk Gyalpo 1850 Shabdung Jigme Norbu 1850-52 Chakpa Sangye 1857-58 Dorlob Parchung 1858-60 Sonam Tobgye 1860-63 Phuntsok Namgyal 1863 Tsulthim Yonten 1864 Kagyu Wangchuck 1864-65 Tsewang Situp 1865 Tsondu Pekar 1870-74 Jigme Namgyal 1874-78 Kyitselpa Dorje Namgyal 1878-81 Chhogyal Zangpo 1881-82 Lama Tsewang 1882-83 Kawa Zangpo 1883-1901 Yanglob Sangye Dorje 1901-5 Chhole Tulku Yeshe Ngodub Druk Gyalpo 1907 (title of the King of Bhutan) 1907-26 Ugyen Wangchuck 1926-52 Jigme Wangchuck 1952-72 Jigme Dorji Wangchuck 1972- Jigme Singye Wangchuck Page xxvii Glossary A AmbanChinese representative stationed in Lhasa in Tibet ArhatA saint who has overcome greed, hatred and delusion ArupaFormless, incorporeal.

Download PDF sample

Rated 4.51 of 5 – based on 39 votes